Provides expert advice to clients, their legal advisers and the courts on contentious business, finance and accounting matters.

Matthew is a Chartered Accountant and forensic accounting expert, specialising in dispute advisory services (including expert witness, expert determination, and consulting expert roles), business valuations, and investigations.

He is accredited by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) as a specialist in both forensic accounting and business valuation.

At CA ANZ, Matthew is the immediate past chair of the Forensic Accounting Committee, was the Queensland forensic accounting chair from 2016 to 2021, and was a member of the Queensland Public Practice Panel from 2016 to 2018.

Matthew is also a member of the task force appointed by the Accounting Professional and Ethical Standards Board (APESB) to advise the APESB in relation to forensic accounting professional standards.

Prior to joining McGrathNicol, Matthew led the Queensland forensic accounting practice of Ferrier Hodgson (which has since merged with KPMG) and, prior to that, held roles up to director level in the forensic accounting, corporate finance and corporate recovery practices of KPMG, based in Brisbane and Perth.

Matthew has appeared as an expert witness in the Supreme Court of Queensland, the Supreme Court of New South Wales, the Supreme Court of Western Australia, and the Federal Court of Australia, and has prepared expert reports for litigation in those courts, the Supreme Court of Victoria, the High Court of New Zealand, the District Court of Queensland, and in institutional and ad hoc arbitrations.

"Clear opinions, supported by the cogent presentation of facts, analysis and reasoning can illuminate the path to conflict resolution. That’s what we consistently deliver."

Matthew Ashby

Qualifications & memberships

  • Bachelor of Commerce,

    The University of Queensland

  • Bachelor of Laws,

    The University of Queensland

  • Graduate Diploma of Chartered Accounting, Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia (now CA ANZ)

  • Certificate IV – Government (Investigations), Sydney Institute of Professional Studies (SIPS)

  • Certificate III – Investigative Services, SIPS

  • CA Business Valuation Specialist, CA ANZ

  • Member, Queensland Public Practice Panel, CA ANZ (2016-2018)

  • CA Forensic Accounting Specialist, CA ANZ

  • Chartered Accountant, Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ)

  • CA ANZ Forensic Accounting Committee: Chair (2019-2021); Queensland representative (2016-2021)